For the safety of our users, we reserve the right to restrict accounts at any time, and at the sole discretion of our team. ⚠️ If your account is restricted, any new account you create will also be blocked.
Restrictions can be temporary or permanent. When we restrict your account, we usually notify you via an automatic email. This email explains whether there’s anything you can do to lift the restriction and which of the following 3 restriction reasons applies in your case:
If you have an unpaid debt, your account will be restricted until it has been paid. To settle your debt, go to your account > “Your Payments” > click the link to pay by card. Note that the restriction is not lifted automatically. You’ll need to wait 2-3 days for the payment to reach us, then contact us to request that we lift the restriction.
This category covers a wide range of scenarios that include, but are not limited to, the following examples:
Failing to meet our requirements for drivers: In this case you’ll only be blocked from renting as a driver. You can still use Getaround as an owner.
Having multiple accounts: For security reasons, we only allow one account per user. If you have multiple accounts, please choose one to keep and delete the rest. Then, let us know by responding to the email you received when we restricted your account. ⚠️ If any of your accounts are blocked for a separate reason (bad behavior, etc.), your access will remain restricted even once you delete the duplicate accounts.
Irresponsible or disrespectful behavior, such as:
Our Safety Team screens all user accounts to detect potential security threats. In order to preserve the effectiveness of these screening measures, we cannot disclose details about them. However, if we restrict your account due to a trust and safety concern, we’ll explain in an email whether you can get the restriction lifted by sending us additional information or documents.